Make your own free website on

  History of Naomh Olaf GAA Club

In the late sixties and early seventies the area between Dundrum and Sandyford was developed and in 1977 a new parish was formed and named after the largest new housing estate, Balally.

One of the residents in Balally, Mick Brown an able hurler who had given outstanding service to the Naomh Fionbarra Club in Cabra, recognised the need for a G.A.A. Club to cater for the growing young population. In July 1981 he called a meeting to which he invited ten people and so a new unit of the association was born.

One of the schools in Balally had already been appropriately named St. Olafs because of its location in Balally which in old reference books is called Baile Mhic Amhlaoibh ( the town of the son of Olaf ). This Olaf is identified as Sitric Mac Amhlaoibh, Norse King of Dublin who founded Christ Church in the 11th century. Claret and blue were chosen as the official colours.

The first A.G.M. was held in Queen of Angels School Hall on the 26th of November 1981. Thirty two people attended and the following committee was elected. President Rev. Brother Philbert, Chairman Mick Brown, Vice Chairman BillO` Brien Secretary Frank Gaynor, Treasurer Flan McCarthy, Registrar Matt Bermingham, P.R.O. Finbar Brogan. Committee Brendan McGlynn, John Brady, Frank Harty, Delores Buggy and Kevin O`Malley. Others deeply involved in the Club during the formative years were Ven Naughton,
Jack Horgan, Pat McGuire, Mick Waters, Liam Kavanagh and Sean MacGriolla Fhearga.

In its first season in competition 1981/82 the Club entered four football teams and two hurling teams all of them between the ages of 10 and 14 years of age. Playing facilities were provided by Dublin County Council at Wedgewood and the use of additional playing fields were generously afforded to the Club by St. Benildus College. Prefabs at St.Olafs Primary School were used as dressing rooms.

The formation of the Club was widely welcomed throughout the area. Teachers in both schools in Balally Parish coached and encouraged the children to play Gaelic Games. The Club presented jerseys to the school teams and an excellent relationship developed between the schools and the Club. Over the years many of the primary teachers have done trojan work for our games but none have done more than Gerry Murphy, Tom and Mick Brennan, Finbar O`Driscoll, Barry Kenna, and Seamus O`Neill.

The opening of the new Clubhouse, by Mr Jack Boothman President of the GAA, on the 24th of April 93 was a major milestone in the Clubs development. Situated adjacent to the playing fields at Wedgewood it is spacious and well designed, having four dressing rooms equipped with showers, as well as a large sports hall, and attractive lounge Bar. The sportshall is home to Meteors Ladies Basketball
Team and hosts basketball matches at the highest level. The clubhouse was built at a cost of €500,000 and was valued at €900,000 in the late nineties.

In 2002 the club added to its building complex by adding an extension to the bar area. The club now has a function room which is capable of holding over 130 people. The extension also incorporates a fully fitted kitchen which is capable of catering for any type of party.

Late in 2003 the club held a very special ceremony to rename the playing fields at Wedgewood
"Pairc Ui Bhriain". They were named after Barry O'Brien who died tragically one year previously. Barry captained the Dublin U21 hurlers the summer before he died and was also a very important player on the club's adult hurling team at midfield. Barry did a lot for the club in his short life and the club felt that naming the playing fields after him was the least that that could have been one to honour a remarkable young man.